Memorial Day conundrum

flagMemorial Day (and other days like it) dredge up deep ambiguity in me. On the one hand, I am grateful for all the men and women who gave everything to preserve a country that affords me great privilege. I am grateful for their families that have suffered great loss. Their sacrifice should not go unnoticed.

At the same time, and again there is a bit of ambivalence here, I see the great harm that our military has caused in the world and I am not convinced that our causes are just. I enjoy the privileges of being an American citizen but those privileges come at great cost to many innocents.

These holidays could be problematized in many other ways. How do you deal with the tensions? What other factors influence your thinking?

3 Comments

Filed under culture, justice, politics, violence

3 responses to “Memorial Day conundrum

  1. I agree.
    I also struggle with the often hidden and on-going losses and wounds of the military. Many of which are being re-created in terms of the brain trauma and other newly survivable injuries soldiers are coming home with. Our society lacks understanding, support, or a place for them. At what point in time do we victimize those who have sacrificed?

  2. Absolutely agree. Here’s a blog post I made about it last year: http://andrewpegoda.com/2013/05/29/some-perspectives-on-memorial-day/

    See the “Thoughts on 4th of July” link toward the bottom of the page too.

Leave a Reply

